• Live monthly webinar focused on ear and hearing related issues and concerns
  • Presentations by Medical Experts & Doctors of Audiology
  • Interactive Q&A with Speakers
  • Real-Time Captioning
  • Free & Open to the Public
  • RSVP is Required
Webinar
06
The Key to Success with Cochlear Implants?
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
11:00am PST  •  12:00pm MT  •  1:00pm CT  •  2:00pm ET
Presented by Julie Husting

Join us on Wednesday, September 22nd at 11am PST for the next educational webinar in our LISTEN & LEARN series entitled “The Key to Success with Cochlear Implants? Setting Realistic Expectations”.

If you are considering getting a cochlear implant or are within the first six months of being implanted, this webinar is for you. Our speaker, Julie Husting, returns to host her second Listen & Learn webinar as she discusses the importance of realistic expectations during the cochlear implant journey. Julie is a long-time patient of Shohet Ear Associates as well as a mentor to many who are trying to navigate life with hearing loss and cochlear implants. Julie is a bilateral cochlear implant recipient, an author, speaker and she serves as Chapter Leader of the Bionic Ear Association for Advanced Bionics.

During her presentation, Julie will be discussing what you can expect in the initial days and months after the cochlear implant is turned on. Getting a cochlear implant is not a “quick fix”; it is a long journey and it helps to know what the process is like ahead of time. Keeping expectations realistic is a key element to success during any transition and a cochlear implant is no different.

Julie’s talk will address some of the questions that she is most commonly asked such as:

  • How long does it take to adjust to a cochlear implant?
  • What to expect from the first day a cochlear implant is turned on through the various stages after activation.
  • What are the keys to success?

If you struggle with hearing loss and would like to learn more about cochlear implants or are simply hoping to adjust your expectations of your current hearing aids, be sure to register now!

Live captioning will be available during the session and there will also be an interactive Q&A offering attendees the unique opportunity to have their individual questions addressed by Julie. The webinar is free and open to the public, but registration is required to reserve your spot. Invite your friends, family, colleagues, and neighbors; we can’t wait to connect with you!

If you’re unable to attend but are interested in what will be discussed, feel free to register and we’ll send you a video recording of the entire talk after the presentation.

Julie Husting, Author and Patient
Julie Husting is bilateral and has had her two cochlear implants since 2012. She has written a book entitled, “I Dared to Dream: My Journey with Cochlear Implants”. Her Facebook group, Cochlear Implant Daily Rehab, has over 3,000 members. She is a mentor and Orange County Chapter Leader of the Bionic Ear Association for Advanced Bionics. Julie lives in Huntington Beach, California.